Logo OpenEdition books

Libraries and institutions

Good morning from the library
Joshua Duffy - CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

The OpenEdition Freemium programme for Books

OpenEdition Books’ partner publishers may propose their own book series on the OpenEdition Books platform according to two access models:

  • Open Access Freemium: Open Access in HTML format for everyone, and PDF/ePub versions available via libraries who have acquired the books;
  • Exclusive access: access reserved to libraries that have acquired books in all formats (HTML, ePub, PDF).

At least 50 % of the books will be distributed in Open Access Freemium. A maximum of 50 % will be available via exclusive access. Publishers are encouraged to distribute as many books as possible in Open Access. Once the book is published in Open Access, it cannot be published on exclusive access. This is part of a long term commitment we have made to libraries. However, if a book is distributed in exclusive access, it is possible to subsequently distribute it via Open Access Freemium.

Purchase books individually or in bundles

It is possible to purchase books individually, or in bundles. The bundles are thematic and made up of titles selected by our team from across the OpenEdition Books catalogue. Libraries acquiring one or several bundles are able to benefit from a preferential rate compared to books purchased on a title-by-title basis.

A permanent or annual (rental) licence

Permanent access enables libraries to build up book collections for long-term conservation and without usage limits applied to PDF and ePub files : neither DRM or download quota is applied. Libraries are able to conserve the PDF and ePub files of purchased books. With annual rental, libraries can offer users books acquired individually or as part of a cheaper bundle. The library automatically acquires permanent access to the title after four years of uninterrupted rental access.

Request a trial period

Institutions and libraries are able to trial OpenEdition Freemium for Books free of charge. To request a trial period, please contact access@openedition.org.

See also:

Logo OpenEdition books

Bibliothèques et institutions

Good morning from the library
Joshua Duffy - CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

Le programme OpenEdition Freemium for Books

Les éditeurs partenaires d’OpenEdition Books proposent leurs collections de livres sur la plateforme OpenEdition Books selon deux modèles d’accès :

  • en libre accès freemium : les contenus sont en libre accès au format HTML pour tous, et téléchargeables aux formats PDF et ePub pour les usagers des établissements ayant acquis les ouvrages ;
  • en accès exclusif : les contenus ne sont accessibles qu’aux usagers des établissements ayant acquis les ouvrages aux formats HTML, PDF et ePub.

Les éditeurs sont largement encouragés par OpenEdition à diffuser le plus grand nombre d’ouvrages en libre accès au-delà d'un quota obligatoire de 50%. Une fois un ouvrage placé en libre accès, il ne peut plus être placé en accès exclusif. C’est un engagement que nous prenons à long terme auprès des bibliothèques. À l’inverse, s’il a été placé en accès exclusif, il est possible de le diffuser par la suite en libre accès freemium.

Deux modes d’acquisition : titre à titre ou par bouquets

Il est possible d’acquérir les ouvrages titre à titre, ou sous forme de bouquets. La sélection des ouvrages composant les bouquets thématiques est opérée par l’équipe d’OpenEdition de manière transversale sur l’ensemble du catalogue d’OpenEdition Books. L’acquisition d’un ou plusieurs bouquets permet de bénéficier d’un tarif préférentiel par rapport au prix des livres acquis à la carte.

Deux licences : l’acquisition pérenne ou annuelle (location)

L’acquisition pérenne permet aux bibliothèques de constituer des collections de livres qu’elles pourront conserver à long terme et sans limite d’usage des fichiers PDF et ePub.
La location annuelle, quant à elle, permet aux bibliothèques de proposer à leurs usagers une offre de livres à la carte ou sous forme de bouquet à moindre coût. Au terme de quatre années de location, l’acquisition d’un titre devient pérenne.

Demander une période d’essai

Les institutions et bibliothèques peuvent demander la mise en place d’un test de l’offre OpenEdition Freemium for Books. Pour bénéficier de cette période d’essai, gratuite, adressez-vous à access@openedition.org.

Voir aussi :